Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
software editor?
oh, how i'd love to be able to edit and view everything on a big screen. I think that the screen on the mrcc is pretty good - it's bright, and i can read it, but i have to hunch over and squint a bit, and since most people will be connected through the computer anyway?

I suppose that all you 'young uns' will care less about this, but i think that it would be a HUGE help here.
I agree.  Not a priority for me, but could make some operations more efficient, and perhaps handle saving / loading / backups as well.  I'm finding that the encoder knob skips around a bit when slowly scrolling through a list, so moving some of that activity to a computer would help.
I also vote for an editor.

I may even volunteer to create one if I find the time. I have some experience. You can check the editors I wrote at http://studiocode.dev

My motivation for an editor:
- MRCC screen is way too small and difficult to read (for me at least)
- I am color blind and I have great difficulty distinguishing the different colors of the LEDs.
- Having the possibility to view ALL the config at once.
(08-02-2021, 12:34 PM)Nelson Baboon Wrote: oh, how i'd love to be able to edit and view everything on a big screen. I think that the screen on the mrcc is pretty good - it's bright, and i can read it, but i have to hunch over and squint a bit, and since most people will be connected through the computer anyway?

I suppose that all you 'young uns' will care less about this, but i think that it would be a HUGE help here.

+1 To this! It's always helpful to have a big-screen interface for editing highly configurable devices. Retrokits have a fairly simple but highly usable cross-platform editor for the RK-006 which might be a good reference point. Granted, that device has almost no physical interface or display, but being able to see the 10k-foot view of the device state provides a nice, clear picture of what it is doing.