Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Questions from a new member
Hi everyone, just joined. I’m new to MIDI and have been putting off buying this for fear that it won’t connect everything together. I’m using almost all new era Equipment, guitar pedals with midi, hardware, software, and 4 midi controllers. 

5 pedals with 5 pin and 1 with usb
5 hardware with 5 pin,  1 with cv,  and a Microfreak
4 controllers: Fader Fox EC4, MP midi controller, Novation 49SL mk3, keysep37
I have also been looking at the iConnectivity mioXL but this seems easier and I can’t remember the downside/complaints about it. 
Sorry if this is an inappropriate first post. I haven’t been on a forum in 15 years. 
Thanks, Tim
Hey Tim,
Sorry, I started writing a response to this and then my computer reset and I lost track of it. Great idea checking in on this before making a purchase, I'll do my best to help you figure out if this is a good solution for your setup or not.
lets have a look and see what we can shake out.

So first off, all of the pedals with DIN MIDI should be compatible, DIN "just works" since it's just sending data and doesn't require any complicated negotiation to get going, so that's good.

Next the Keystep and Novation gear as well as the faderfox should all be confirmed as working. The MP controller we have not heard any reports on. If it can do DIN, then no problem, if it's USB, it's hard to say. It's safe to say that MRCC works via USB host port with Most devices, but there are a number of exceptions and without trying them we can't guarantee they'll work. The same goes for the other pedal, at this point it's hard to say for sure, but if you post what the pedal is maybe someone else may have it and could confirm one way or the other for us.