Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
LFO assigne to Midi Controller?
Hi all,

I am new to NDLR and still discover all the features. Lately I went over the midi controller and loved how I could control the filter of my ATC manually - wonderful.
Now I am wondering if there is a possibility to modulate the midi filter controller with an LFO or even better with the patterns?
If I understand your question correctly, then YES you can! First of all is your ATC the Studio Electronics ATC-1? If so, cool machine. I bet it sounds great.

Controlling the filter via the MIDI CNTLR pages uses the quasi-standard CC#74 for Cutoff and CC#71 for resonance. If you go to thre MOD MATRIX pages (Menu + ENC 1-4), you can assign a destination to CC#s, like 74 or 71, on any MIDI channel you like. And, the modulation source can be an LFO, which you can set as being a pattern. Pretty much exactly what you seek.

Here's an easy example tip to set it up:
1- go to MOD MATRIX 1 (press MENU then ENC 1)
2- set destination to CC#74 (turn ENC 5 until MIDI CC #74 is displayed)
3- set MIDI channel to the one your ATC responds to (turn ENC 6 to 1-MIDIA, for example)
4- set source to whatever you want via ENC 1, for example LFO 1
5- set MOD AMT to 100% (twist ENC 2)

Set LFO 1 to a pattern by:
1- go to LFO CONFIG (press MENU then ENC 5)
2- twist ENC 5 until you see PATT 4 (or whatever pattern you want)

That should get you started. Have fun!
Yes, it is the Studio Electronics ATC-1 with 24db filter cartridge! I still love it and keep it in the mix Wink

Thx for the detailed descritption!! It works like a charm.

The only thing I can`t figure out: Is it possible to set a min/max value for the modulation: Let`s say set minimum CC value to 50 and maximum to 127 thus the filter does not completly close? Thus far when I set MOD AMT it only changes the max value.