Conductive Labs Support Forum
MIDI Spec A/B/DIN question - Printable Version

+- Conductive Labs Support Forum (https://conductivelabs.com/forum)
+-- Forum: MRCC - MIDI Router Control Center (https://conductivelabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://conductivelabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+--- Thread: MIDI Spec A/B/DIN question (/showthread.php?tid=1389)

MIDI Spec A/B/DIN question - oldgearguy - 03-05-2021

I'm relatively new to the TRS convention for MIDI connections, so I started poking around the net reading specifications, etc.

One question I have - the TRS spec seems to limit the length of a cable to 2 meters (approx. 6 feet).  The original MIDI spec for DIN connections is 50 feet.
Can you in fact use TRS MIDI for distances longer than 6 feet?  Does it depend on the transmitting and/or receiving device?  Does it differ if you use a TRS to DIN adapter and connect the device to a traditional DIN MIDI socket?

Also - given that a number of MRCC slots have all 3 MIDI types, can the MRCC support parallel connections (i.e. - using both MIDI A and DIN for a slot?)
understanding of course that the information sent will be identical.

thanks

RE: MIDI Spec A/B/DIN question - Jesse Johannesen - 03-05-2021

(03-05-2021, 04:39 AM)oldgearguy Wrote: I'm relatively new to the TRS convention for MIDI connections, so I started poking around the net reading specifications, etc.

One question I have - the TRS spec seems to limit the length of a cable to 2 meters (approx. 6 feet).  The original MIDI spec for DIN connections is 50 feet.
Can you in fact use TRS MIDI for distances longer than 6 feet?  Does it depend on the transmitting and/or receiving device?  Does it differ if you use a TRS to DIN adapter and connect the device to a traditional DIN MIDI socket?

Also - given that a number of MRCC slots have all 3 MIDI types, can the MRCC support parallel connections (i.e. - using both MIDI A and DIN for a slot?)

thanks